Streaming conferences over YouTube can be an effective and convenient way for companies to access instant communication with a range of different team members. However, though many businesses understand the power and value of YouTube as a streaming service, they have no idea how to use it as a conference-based solution.
VMR solutions such as V-Control can allow individuals and groups to create a dedicated multi-media stream for a CDN (Content Delivery Network), and public streaming services like YouTube. Here, we'll cover exactly how you can stream your conferences through YouTube, quickly, and efficiently.
Before we Get Started…
Before we tell you how to set up a stream, the first thing you'll need to be aware of, is that you'll need a YouTube verified account that's been enabled for live events. Without one, streaming isn't possible. To find out if you're able to continue, go to your YouTube account and visit the "features" page through account settings.
If you discover that your account isn't verified, you'll need to click "Verify" and follow the instructions. Make sure that you enable "Live Events" at the same time. You'll also need a VMR account like V-Control to stream your content. Streamers will also need to obtain a streaming license so that they can access the "streaming" action within their VMR.
Starting a Stream
Once you've managed all of the pre-requisites associated with streaming, you'll be ready to get started. First things first, you'll need to begin your VMR, either by using software or contacting your address directly and entering your pin. From there, you can start to add participants to the session. From that point onwards:
- Click the "Send Stream" button within the streaming box. You may have to agree to allow your software to access and send information to your YouTube account. You'll need to click accept for the Streaming to take place.
- Once you're ready, you'll see the "Add a Stream" dialogue, where you'll be able to select the "YouTube" tab. From there, you'll see a screen requesting your name and the privacy settings for your session. The default name will be your VMR name. The privacy options include:
Private: These video streams can only be accessed by you, and the users that you select
Unlisted: Unlisted videos mean that anyone who has a link to the video can view it, but your videos won't show up to others who visit your YouTube channel page




