Zoom's faced heat for security in the past. And I've covered most of the company's recent mishaps. Like this one. And this one. Though Zoom's always acknowledged its security shortcomings as they arise, and to its credit, remedied the situation. Today, Zoom's taking a more proactive approach with the release of 'Meeting Rooms,' a feature that adds a layer of security to meetings against intruders.
The new feature acts as a virtual waiting space that prevents anyone from joining a meeting before the host admits them, according to Zoom. Available via Zoom Meetings, meeting hosts can customize the title, logo, and message that appear in their 'Waiting Rooms,' letting participants know they're in the right meeting and will be added to the call shortly. Zoom said, meeting owners can even send personalized messages to those in waiting to their desktop or mobile device.
How to Enable Waiting Rooms by Zoom?
It takes about sixty seconds to set up, and here's how to enable' Waiting Rooms' by Zoom:
- Sign in to your Zoom Meetings account and head to the settings tab
- Next, click on the 'In Meeting' option, a part of Zoom's advanced settings
- Then, perform a search or scroll to locate the option to enable 'Waiting Rooms'
- Toggle the button next to the waiting room to enable the feature
- After the feature is enabled, you can send all participants to 'Waiting Rooms' or send external accounts to a Zoom Waiting Room. The same is possible for internal participants so they can admit guests from the waiting room if the host is running late
Once you enable the feature, 'Waiting Rooms' will apply to all future Zoom meetings.




